1947 Softball Team Abrahamson-Bannon - MCSHOF Inductee - 2013

The 1947 edition of the Abrahamson-Bannon softball team helped to set up decades to come of softball greatness from Mason County as it won the MASA Class B state championship. The team compiled a 35-4 record that season and went 17-2 in its league. At the state tournament, the team allowed just one run and eight hits while scoring eight runs on 20 hits. Bob VanDyke tossed the first two games, including 10 strikeouts against the Alpena American Legion in the opener. Dick Dennis was perfect against Grand Ledge Plumbing and followed with a one-hit, 21-strikeout, nine-inning title game win against the Hazel Park Morticians. Members of the team were Dan Allard, Frank Rockfall, Ward Abrahamson, Jack Yeck, Milt Anderson, Ralph Weinert, Bob VanDyke, Dick Dennis, John "Chick" Czarnecki, Dave Horowski and Russ Houk with Ray Dittmer a player-manager and Dale Bannon as one of the team's sponsors.